Shamarh Brooks appointed the skipper of Windies A side for Sri Lanka series

Rahkeem Cornwall. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Shamarh Brooks has been appointed as the skipper of the Windies ‘A’ side for the series against Sri Lanka A to be played at home. He will lead the side for the first two four-day matches against Sri Lanka who will tour West Indies for 3 matches of 4 days and as many List A games. The series is scheduled to get underway on October 11 in Jamaica. Shamarh Brooks was the part of Chris Gayle led St. Kitts Nevis and Patriots in the recently concluded Caribbean Premier League.

The squad also includes two other international players in Sheldon Cottrell and Vishaul Singh. The latter has been named the vice-captain for the whole series. Cottrell was Brooks’ teammate in the CPL this year and performed decently. He scalped 11 wickets in six outing for his franchise St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots who were the runners-up of the tournament. Sunil Ambris, who is currently in England to play the ODI series, has also been picked in the 13-man squad as a wicketkeeper.

‘A’ team is feeding ground to senior one

The likes of Rahkeem Cornwall and Oshane Thomas were included in the squad who impressed in West Indies domestic T20 league. Chief selector Courtney Browne felt that the series is a great opportunity for the youngsters to press their claims for the national side.

“Our A-Team is the feeding ground for our senior men’s team and so we are looking to continue the development of our second-tier players,” he said.

“With a strong focus on consistency in selection, this series is another opportunity for them to continue to press their claims for a place in the senior side, thus placing selection pressure on incumbents, ensuring there is healthy competition for spots and growing our talent pool,” Browne added.

Windies A squad:

Shamarh Brooks (captain), Vishal Singh (vice-captain), Sunil Ambris, John Campbell, Yannic Cariah, Rahkeem Cornwall, Sheldon Cottrell, Jahmar Hamilton, Montcin Hodge, Damion Jacobs, Keon Joseph, Reynard Leveridge, Oshane Thomas